State of the Vikings’ Nation

Alright, so it’s time for a little opinionated scribbles from your’s truly.  I am sitting in one of the hearts of the beast (KFAN studios), and I have to get a couple of things off my chest.

Although I only make it into the Vikings’ locker room for one day a week, I see things.  So please, make no mistake…

Randy Moss is not misunderstood. 

I appreciate that Moss came into the league and dominated with his superior set of skills.  He is undoubtedly one of the greatest receivers of all time.

However, his attitude and complete disregard for the media, Vikings’ coaches, some players, and even a mom-and-pop food caterer, display the exact reasons for the Moss dump.  And I haven’t even addressed #84’s ever digressing on the field performances and effort.

Do I regret the Vikings taking a chance on Randy?  No.  Was it a failure bordering on one of colossal size?  Yes.

Before I address Childress, I have to reiterate the importance of the dark cloud Moss brought to the team.  Prior to Moss’ arrival, the team, even while facing a losing record, answered questions openly and with confidence.  After the first week of Randy’s second stint in Purple, the locker room was diseased.  The majority of the team was avoiding the media, and if you could physically feel the tension in the room, I promise it was thick.

Quickly onto Childress.

Should he be fired right now?  No.  Despite what you may think, the Vikings could still make the playoffs, and things theoretically could be turned around.  And I am not speaking as a rube – I’m just addressing what is possible.

But if you ask me the same question – regarding Chilly’s job in – in a couple of weeks, the answer could be much different.  Everyone wants to be so quick to react, but we (fans) need to calm down, take a breath, and realize waiting two or three weeks couldn’t hurt us anymore than the current state of this team.

I will address more this Thursday after I experience the locker room on Wednesday.

This entry was posted in Minnesota Vikings, The Slant. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

